Your Ad Here

Saturday, July 4, 2009

When Did Tuvalu Gain Its Independence?

Tuvalu means "cluster of eight islands" in the language of the natives who live there.

This tiny nation actually consists of nine islands in the South Pacific, but only eight of them are inhabited. The islands form a chain about 360 miles long. The total area of the nine islands is less than ten square miles.

Before Tuvalu gained its independence in 1978, the people of the islands had to decide whether they wanted to be ruled by a king or to become a republic.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Add url Anime blogs & blog posts Mobile Phone Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory